Knowing Him in the Storm

The past 7 years have been a season of constant struggle, much of which is directly related to our house.

Sunday night as I went to bed I had a huge sense of peace come over me. As I lay my head down on my pillow, I sensed in my spirit, that this was the end of a season.

I wasn’t sure what it would look like, but I felt it was the end of the season of struggle with this house, or at least I had stepped into a new level of resistance to the enemy’s attempts.

Four hours later we were awakened by our daughter, Grace, “ Mom, Dad, wake up the house is flooding.”

Grace had been awake at 3 a.m. reading a school assignment that was due the following day and had heard the water rushing in.

As I stood up beside my bed in ankle deep water, it just made sense. I wasn’t even surprised. It had all been such a struggle and now it was over.  It seemed so final; the ending of this season of hard.

Within 10 minutes the water level was half way up to my knees. We grabbed a few things that make no sense to me today. If your house is flooding, don’t take a clean t-shirt and toothbrush!

Water was rushing through my house like a river. We recognized we had to get out right then.  Water was rising too fast to save anything.

At 3:20 a.m. Monday morning we were barely able to get our cars out of the driveway.  But as we did, we drove away from the brokenness and the struggle and drove into His peace, grace and just knowing His presence, MORE.

Over the past 12 days many have asked, how can you have such peace and joy in the midst of all the loss?

It is hard to describe with words, “Knowing Him in the Storm…”

The best I can do is share the lyrics that I am singing in my heart as I write this…

“Nothing’s better than Your presence.”

“Oh let me drink deep.”

“May my love be poured upon His head, His hands, His feet.”

“I want to know you, Lord.”

“This is why I am alive, to know You, to know You.”

“I don’t want any other lovers, just give me Jesus.”

“Take it all. Take it all.”

“Just give me Jesus.”

“Give me Jesus!”

(Rick Pino)

About Laura Harris Townsend

I have been described by others as compassionate, creative and spiritually insightful. Funny would probably never be in that description since I see myself as maybe a little too serious. I love the blessed, fun life that God has given me in a very serious way ;) One of my favorite things to do and my ideal vacation is to get away to an anointed teaching/worship conference where I can bask in the presence of the Son and soak it all in. I enjoy staying in a nice hotel and spending hours in the Word, worship, writing and prepping for what God would speak through me. I am married to Greg, my high school sweetheart and we have 4 children, Cory 29, Chelsea 26, Grace 16 and Brighten Hope 9. I live on 2 acres, in the country, West of Houston. The picture on my blog From Broken to Grateful is a picture of the pond beside my house. I feel that God blessed me with this peaceful place to live and write. My day to day life looks like quiet mornings, homeschool, housework and hopefully sharing Jesus with whoever God puts in my day. I enjoy journaling, blogging and writing Bible study curriculum. About 7 years ago, I made decision to run hard after God. A whole world has opened up to me since I set my heart on loving the whole world through Christ. Aligning My Life For His Purpose exists to encourage others to do just that. To align their lives for His purpose so that they can go after the calling that He has placed in each individuals life and achieve the purpose for which they were created. Follow me and lets get into the good stuff of God together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

