Discipleship

For My Daddy on his birthday.  I miss you Daddy but I know I will see you again!image

I recently heard, these words which permeated my spirit and soul. The words were, “Everything is freaking broken!”

For the record, freaking is not a word I generally use, but for the purpose of this post, it clearly makes the point.

God took those words and used them to illuminate truth in my life.

I live in a broken house. Everywhere I look, things are broken. I’m not just talking about a burned out light bulb or a stain on the rug, a broken air conditioner and a sink that won’t drain. EVERYTHING is freaking broken!

From the cracks in the sidewalk, to the cracks in the walls, to the cracks in the windows, everything is freaking broken. Living in a house that always needs the air conditioner repaired or the well pump replaced feels like constant struggle.

One day a few weeks ago, I was meditating on notes I had taken at a recent leadership conference.  The words that God used to speak to me were “everything is freaking broken”.  It was like those words in my spirit came to life in my soul at that moment.

The world is “freaking broken”, friends! People are going to hell. Do you get that? I now understand He is wanting me to see that spiritually speaking, in this world, apart from Him, “everything is freaking broken”.

God spoke the words in my spirit and gave me understanding in my soul through my physical circumstances.  He has allowed everything to be “freaking broken” to illuminate spiritual truth to me.

It is our commission as disciples of Jesus to rescue others from this “freaking brokenness”!

imageimage

The great commission in Matthew 28:19-20 NLT, says,
“Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

I will be the first admit, even from childhood as a young believer, I’ve known the great commission and recognized it was written as instruction for all believers, everywhere! I believe this was written to me and to you if you are a Christ follower. But how often have I lived it out? How many lost souls have I rescued from an eternity in hell?

My big take away from the leadership conference was my call to discipleship.  I was convicted. God, I do not have passion as I should for the lost.  At that conference, I believe He broke my heart for the lost and for the world where everything is “freaking broken”.

However, throughout the conference I had a question in my spirit as I was experiencing God giving me a new passion for souls, “What about what I have been doing Lord?  I feel I have been pursuing what you have called me to do in teaching, writing, leading and supporting other believers as well as my family and friends.”

image

image

At the end of the conference, there was a time of reflection. We were asked to write out the next three steps God was asking us to take.

So I wrote out #1 and #2 easily. Then #3. As I prayed and reread each step, it seemed to me that my #3 was really just an extension of #2. So I prayed, “God, if that is not my #3, then show me what is.”

I continued in worship and prayer. Then maybe 30 minutes later, as clear as day, I knew what #3 was.

When the speaker was up on stage passionately compelling us with her words, “People are going to hell!”

I was thinking to myself, “I really don’t know people who are going to hell”.

At that moment, God showed me to write out my step #3- “Join or sign up for something secular”.

If I continue to run in my own little Christian circles, I will rarely be in relationship someone who isn’t already a Christian.

“Yes, Lord I will do that. I will expand my borders and intentionally go into the world so that you can show me who to invite into my story.”

I was excited that He had shown me step #3. It was definitely Him, it is not something I would think of doing.

Through my broken house and reflection on this discipleship message , God showed me in a tangible way that, “Everything is freaking broken”.

That is why He is asking me to go into the world. I can feel in my soul what brokenness is like because I have experienced living in broken circumstances in the natural. Truthfully not just the circumstances of a house that needs repair but also real brokenness in my own life.  God magnified the vision of that need to me and gave me understanding to motivate me to do something about it!

Over next few days, as I meditated on the words and the ideas I felt He had instilled in me at the conference, I was reading the great commission. Then He totally illuminated verse 20 to me and answered my question I had asked at the conference, “Lord, what about what I am doing? I felt I was pursuing what you called me to do.”

imageimage

Verse 20 says,

“Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (‭Matthew‬ ‭28‬:‭20‬ NLT)‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬

Teach these newer believers!  Be in relationship with other believers.  That is what I do. That is what we do!  That is what He has called me to do. That IS part of discipleship!

I had not missed my primary call, what I do in my everyday circles.  I write, teach, lead and disciple believers that God has entrusted to me, my family, my friends, my small group.

Truthfully, they also disciple me. In relationship, we are able to disciple one another.

As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭27‬:‭17‬ NLT)‬‬‬‬‬‬

image

I was missing the passion needed for verse 19, so God gave me a new passion for reaching the lost. He gave me a tangible way to feel it in my own life through my “everything is freaking broken” house.

I will step out as he gives me opportunity in the “freaking brokenness” of this world and help others find freedom. I will invite them into my story, my circle of relationships, where real discipleship happens.

Discipleship- I’m embracing that word.

It is the new way I’m looking at my old calling and at my “freaking broken everything”!

God help me rescue others from “every freaking broken thing”! Discipleship.

imageimage

imageimage

About Laura Harris Townsend

I have been described by others as compassionate, creative and spiritually insightful. Funny would probably never be in that description since I see myself as maybe a little too serious. I love the blessed, fun life that God has given me in a very serious way ;) One of my favorite things to do and my ideal vacation is to get away to an anointed teaching/worship conference where I can bask in the presence of the Son and soak it all in. I enjoy staying in a nice hotel and spending hours in the Word, worship, writing and prepping for what God would speak through me. I am married to Greg, my high school sweetheart and we have 4 children, Cory 29, Chelsea 26, Grace 16 and Brighten Hope 9. I live on 2 acres, in the country, West of Houston. The picture on my blog From Broken to Grateful is a picture of the pond beside my house. I feel that God blessed me with this peaceful place to live and write. My day to day life looks like quiet mornings, homeschool, housework and hopefully sharing Jesus with whoever God puts in my day. I enjoy journaling, blogging and writing Bible study curriculum. About 7 years ago, I made decision to run hard after God. A whole world has opened up to me since I set my heart on loving the whole world through Christ. Aligning My Life For His Purpose exists to encourage others to do just that. To align their lives for His purpose so that they can go after the calling that He has placed in each individuals life and achieve the purpose for which they were created. Follow me and lets get into the good stuff of God together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

